Dichotomy

Published February 27, 2017 by Chloe Madison

16995999_1487795274565975_1601934116169473528_n

I feel desperately alone. Yet I will tell you that we are children of God. God is our Father and we are all his family. Even when we feel we are alone, God is always there. We might not feel Him nor hear Him, but make no mistake…He IS with you.

I know that no place on this Earth is safe. Yet I will tell you that you are safe in the palm of God’s hand. You are safe when you lose yourself in His word. You are safe when you immerse yourself in prayer and converse with the Lord.

I feel completely and utterly insignificant. Yet I will tell you that we are God’s chosen people. We belong to God.

I feel sad, depressed, overwhelmingly hopeless. Yet I will tell you to hold on, to trust in Jesus. Hold tight to His promises. Confide in Him, talk with Him…then listen to Him.

I feel…no…I know that I don’t want to live anymore. Yet I will tell you that we are alive in Jesus. God has given us the gift of life. He created us with thought and precision. It’s wrong to even think of throwing that away. I would say don’t focus on yourself. Instead, focus on your Saviour and your Lord. When you have negative thoughts, focus on praising God, your loving Father. Tune in to His goodness, His gentleness, His strength, His love for you and for all of humanity. Concentrate on others- how can you help others? What are their needs? Look for a need in people, open yourself up and allow God to use you to somehow benefit others.

So much easier said than done. There is nothing profound here…just the constant battle inside my mind.

Run from the negative thoughts- they are not from God. Run to Jesus, run to your Heavenly Father. Trust in Him and cling to Him always.

bigstock-happy-family-edit

2 comments on “Dichotomy

  • Cloe, thanks for the great first graphic chart! (For me, visual thinks like that really make a message clear.) I’m going to make a post-it note for myself with those contrasts! Sometimes it’s difficult to tell the source of my thoughts, and sometimes I can think some terribly discouraging thoughts accompanied by “well, you might as well just be realistic and face the truth.” Thank you so much for this! Your post really had a very positive impact on me today…encouraged, not discouraged! Thanks again!

  • Leave a Reply

